Myth About Corn

Here I am in the office, working my a**, sorry heart out and I just thought to take a break and check on John. John is my colleague and we have been working on a very serious project for some weeks now….sigh. Am sure you are wondering what your business with all these is; well our office is not the usual kind of workplace. We work for Tangalo Africa…an Agricultural communication company.  Don’t worry we are not farmers or anything like that. In the days…weeks…months and years to come we will unveil what we do.

So back to John…just as I stepped into his office he offered me corn.  Can you imagine!!! Here I was sweating away since and he went to buy corn to eat. Well ‘wetin concern me, I go chop my corn wella’ (What is my business, I will enjoy the corn very well).

Just as I was about to take a bite…I decided to look at the corn well…and I thought of all the different stories or myths I had heard about corn (lol). So the corn from my dear colleague John inspired this article  sigh…too much long grammar joor…enjoy the fact finding statements below…

Myth: Corn is fattening and sugary.


Truth: An ear of corn has about the same number of calories as an apple and less than one-fourth the sugar. In other words, it can be one of the healthier foods at the cookout! Just remember: while sweet corn is healthy, some of the toppings people like to put on it aren’t. So don’t assume an ear of corn slathered in butter and doused in salt is still a healthy option.

Myth: Cooking corn makes it less nutritious.


Truth: Antioxidant activity, which helps protect the body from cancer and heart disease, is actually increased when corn is cooked.

 Myth: Corn has no healthy benefits.


Truth: Sweet corn is loaded with lutein and zeaxanthin, two phytochemicals that promote healthy vision. A midsize ear also offers a helpful 3-gram dose of dietary fiber.

Myth: The best way to choose corn is by the color of the kernels.


Truth: Although corn lovers often profess to have favorite varieties “Any corn can be ruined if it’s old,” he says. Neither is color a key to quality. Yellow, white, bi-color—it doesn’t really matter. Preferences vary from region to region. Avoid corn with dry, pale husks and silks that are desiccated where they enter the cob. If pricked, kernels should squirt whitish juice. As for choosing the best-tasting corns, don’t buy a cob that’s more than 24 hours out of the field!

Leave a Reply

